Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

My family is from Germany and so every year we go to Bavaria to visit my family. This year was no different than any other year and we flew the 8 hours to spend the holidays with my grandmas, aunt, uncle, and cousins. One thing I look forward to every year, besides my family of course, is going to the christmas markets (Weihnachtsmarkt or Christkindlesmarkt) because every city has one and I think it is fun to see what the differences and similarities are between them :) These photos are a mixture from a few different markets, but you will see very quickly why I love them… essentially, the food and the drinks are the best and being outside with some warm wine while it snows and German is being spoken around you is one of my favorite parts about Christmas.

Prune People (Zwetschgenmaennla) are unique to Bavaria, and come in all shapes and sizes! They have been around since 1790 and are supposed to bring good luck for Christmas and New Year.

Traditional Glühwein or “Glow Wine” (because it is hot spiced wine, and makes you warm and happy inside) is sold at every Christmas market, and every market makes different mugs to serve them in!

One of my favorite things to eat, chocolate covered fruit! These are pears, but every fruit gets a design.

Every region or city has their own version of the brat, this one can be found in Nürnberg

Brats in the process of being made, there is ALWAYS a line, so they make tons of them (you can even take some home in a can!

You can always find these Lebkuchenherzen (Gingerbread Hearts) with different sayings ranging from “I Love You” to “Merry Christmas”

