Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

There is a cake heaven, and it is right here in NYC. I recently had the pleasure of discovering Black Hound Bakery on Second Ave and 11th street, aka the best place on earth. This bakery is no ordinary bakery, yes, there are cookies and choclate and all sorts of things you would expect from a bakery, but by far their cakes (and mini cakes) are the stars of the store.

Let me start off by saying I really do not like cake. Like at all. I actually kind of hate cake with its dry crumbly inside and fake frosting, it makes me feel like I am shoving nasty processed fakefood in my face (which I probably am), no thank you. But this cake is beyond all that nonsense, the actual cake part is not dry or fake and is smoothed over layers of chocolate or fruit or marzipan, while the frosting is anything but processed. I can’t even begin to tell you how amazing their frosting is. And the decorations that line the top of the cake are beautiful! Like, I-almost-don’t-want-to-eat-this-beautiful, except you will of course because you won’t be able to help yourself when it comes to these cakes.

I personally have had Danielle’s Cake (pictured below) as well as the Pear Almond and Queen D (as well as a few other seasonal cakes that are not always offered, don’t judge, they are delicious). Full disclosure, they are a bit on the expensive side, but totally worth it!

insdie ras

cut

