Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I am taking a big risk in telling you about a new favorite restaurant of mine. Although two of the three people I told about this restaurant already knew about it. Not to mention it has 4 out of 5 stars on Yelp with over 350 reviews so there’s a good chance you have heard of it already, but if not  – you’re welcome.

Jin Ramen is located right by the 125th 1 station on Broadway. My cousin told me it’s a Columbia hangout, but I was able to eat and leave without any Rumble happening. It specializes in Japanese food, but is most known for their namesake ramen. For those of you who were unaware ramen is a type of meal and not just a brand (I was one of you until Thursday) it is way better than the hunk of noodles sold for $1 at the deli. The broth can be as creamy as you’d like with added spice and other ingredients such as bean sprouts and even a fried or soft-boiled egg (highly recommended).

If you make it to Jin Ramen do not leave without trying their pork buns. The bread was the softest and most delicious grain I’ve ever tasted. I wanted to take the bread home and eat every sandwich for the rest of my life off that bread. The pork was nice and tender and with just enough spicy mayo for a flavor without being grossed out about mayo. My cousin and I also split the chicken dumplings which needless to say were incredible.

As we all remember from Restaurant Week I am a horrible food blogger so these pictures are brought to you by my lovely cousin, Pam. She also deserves all the credit for bringing me to Jin Ramen.

Tender pork with lettuce and spicy mayo on the softest bread to slightly rise on earth.

Tender pork with lettuce and spicy mayo on the softest bread to slightly rise on earth

 

Rich and creamy sauce from boiling pork bones with some seaweed and a soft-boiled egg

Rich and creamy sauce from boiling pork bones with some seaweed and a soft-boiled egg

 

