Tags

, , , , , ,

I JUST HAD THE BEST CAB RIDE EVER.

I don’t have much experience with cabs, but let me tell you–this one stands out.

20131027-232030.jpg
As a grad student normal human being I cannot afford the lifestyle that includes daily cab rides, but some days you are running late and you just have to suck it up. Or maybe it’s just me?

So I step outside to leave my friend’s apartment on the upper east side (UES) and see no available taxis but I walk to the next avenue to try my luck. None there either. And the next–nope. Ten Fifteen minutes later I find one with the lit sign that tells me it’s free for hailing.

He stops directly in front of me. I climb in and tell him my cross streets which will bring me to midtown from the UES and SECONDS after I close the door, the cabbie takes off like a MANIAC. We dart in and out of clusters of cars.

This would normally (and has previously) made my heart rate increase drastically (grab a handle and pray to make it out without bruises) but I’m more concerned about being late to this school event where I am sure to make a noisy entrance if more than 5 minutes late.

After noting our abrupt take off I refocus my attention. Do I have my phone on me? Credit card? Student ID? Gum? Hope my hair looks okay…Oh well. I go through my mental checklist until my heart slows to a normal beat. And then I check the time on my phone.

And as if the cabbie can read my mind (more likely, the panic on my face), I notice that suddenly I am weaving being jolted through traffic again, speeding up and slowing down but getting really close to where I need to be.

This may sound like a bad roller coaster to you, and I get that. But living in NYC, my definition of a good driver has changed. Now it’s whoever can get me to where I need to be by the time I need to be there, regardless of how late I think I am.

