Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I wouldn’t call myself an adrenaline junkie, but I do love a good scare and a fun night out of my comfort zone.

That’s why I decided to indulge in some Halloween spirit and go to the Blackout Element “haunted house” last night. It’s not an actual haunted house because there is no supernatural element to the experience, but they do try to scare the crap out of you.

The main reason I wanted to go to Blackout was because I was told that it is by far the scariest haunted house in the city, partially perpetuated by the waiver you must sign before going through and the fact that you must go in the house alone.

Anyway, the Blackout website makes it sound like a frightening and intriguing experience. (By the way, tickets are $65 and sold online, and there are locations in New York, Los Angeles, and Chicago.) However, what I really wished I had looked at before agreeing to go is the Yelp review. They weren’t favorable at all and I whole-heartedly think it would be a waste of your time unless you are easily frightened and would like someone to help you get rid of those hiccups.

Every now and then I consciously decide to ignore bad/mediocre reviews of a restaurant/show if I am just too interested to care, but at least knowing what other people are saying is helpful. Therefore, friends, be sure to Google your plans for the night, or look up the reviews for your cleverly-named lunch place (I use a combination of Yelp, Zagat, and Opentable), or delivery options (Seamless. Always.).

