Tags

, , , , , , ,

It wasn’t until this summer that I was introduced to pho. And now, I am obsessed. If I could eat pho every day, I don’t think I would ever get sick of it. Pho (pronounced “fuh”) is a Vietnamese soup that is traditionally beef-based and includes rice noodles and beef. As someone who doesn’t eat meat, I didn’t think that I would ever be eating pho. But then I learned that some places offered a vegetarian broth with vegetables instead of meat option. I went to a place in Connecticut, and then immediately had to find a place in NYC so I could get pho on a regular basis. I’ve been going to Pho Grand (on Grand Street, less than a block from the B or D Grand Street station) and my go-to order is 17a with vegetable broth. It is pure heaven and is only $6.50.

The pho comes like this, pretty plain… just the broth filled with noodles and your choice or meat or vegetables:

Then, you can add bean sprouts and basil/mint to your liking:

And then, most exciting, you get to add hoisin sauce and sriracha, so you can make it as spicy and flavorful as you want:


Pho is wonderful when you aren’t feeling 100%, but it is really delicious all the time, not to mention super inexpensive since you can usually get two meals out of one order.

