Tags

, , , , ,

Let’s face it, to live in New York you need money and to get money you need a job (excluding special cases). You send out your résumé and agonize over when and if anyone will get back to you. When that special email or phone call comes, you rejoice…for about 5 seconds. Then the panic sets in: I have hardly any experience. I probably have so much competition in the big city.  What am I going to wear?

You take all the steps:

1. Picking out an appropriate outfit

2. Researching the company, the imprint, the HR person, the director and the job functions

3. Coming up with a list of questions to ask and prepare for the ones you think they might ask

4. Making copies of your cover letter and resume printed on fancy paper

5. Writing down the directions

6. Praying

tabby dream job

The day of the interview for my dream job, everything went right, but I left feeling as though it might not be the right fit for me. The people were lovely, but the vibe was off. Now, as I wait for them to make their decision, I have my own decision to make. If I get the job, do I really want it? Do I need it? And if I don’t get it, well, at least I tried. New York is touted as the city where dreams come true; “if you can make it here, you can make it anywhere.” Just know going in you might not get that dream job or it might not be what you thought it would be. But always remember, New York is what you make of it.

