Every time I’m on the subway I have a blog post ready, which considering is multiple times everyday you would think I’d have at least 365+ since I’ve been here for over a year. A kind of “Dear Diary” section: Dear Diary, today the subway made me want to yell at the guy with the giant backpack, with earphones on, no sense of passenger courtesy, his bag digging into my back. And I came close to doing it, complaint No. 47688.

But I’m digressing. This is not my diary. This has an audience: you! And I don’t want to bore you with the workings of my rather tired brain. I’ve wanted to write a blog post about the subway, my rant, for a long time, and I think it’s appropriate that I am sitting squashed between two people and writing this. I wanted to write a rant but something adorable happened the other day and I think you’d enjoy that much more.

After a day at work and then school my brain is pretty much fried, any inclination to be productive and, let’s say, read for homework has pretty much died with the loud bumbling train that has finally arrived. I’ve been playing Bejeweled on my iPad–highly addictive and a very rewarding experience sitting among strangers. 

I sat down and started tapping away, beating my own score again. This little person runs into the empty seat next to me and then runs back to his mum. I would, too, if I was as little as him. As per usual the train was crowded and being that tiny everyone seems scary right? So his mum follows and he ends up sitting on her lap and I’m smiling at them and then tapping away again. The little boy leans over and is totally enthralled watching the game. Usually I would smile and keep playing, but I felt his mum would be okay with me asking him to play with me, and so I did. Soon he was trying to play, tapping at the jewels that shimmered, his mum joined in and we were all playing.
You would think, why is that such a big deal? So you played with a child on the train.
For most daily NY subway commuters, the point is to get from place A to place B, as quickly as possible with as few occurrences as possible. I do fall into that category, also because I am habitually ten minutes late (trying to be a grown up and improving). This was about a ten minute journey where instead of counting the stops I was interacting with someone and the delight on his face was palpable and I wanted to keep playing the game. Alas, my stop came too quickly and I had to leave, but for the first time I didn’t loathe the subway, so it was a big moment in the life of Supriya, since she started using the NY subway. So don’t be misled by this wonderful little encounter, my rant is still alive and one day when I get super inspired by the MTA’s ways, you can read all about it. Till then, do mind the gap. (London hangover, I know.)
