Tags

, , , , , , ,

*Spoiler Alert* (Yes, the star-crossed lovers die. That’s not the spoiler. But I do talk about some of the show’s elements, so if you’re going to see it, be warned.)

After failing to win the “Kinky Boots” lottery last Wednesday, I decided that going to see Orlando Bloom in “Romeo and Juliet” was not such a bad second choice–especially at the $22 student ticket price. One of my favorite parts about Broadway musicals or plays, aside from the talent on stage, is the creativity of the set. This set was no different and had some unique elements: sand, fire, a live dove, and balloons. The moving back wall that split into sections and adjusted during scene changes to create doorways, the orchard wall, and other backdrops was simple but impressive.

For me, the most moving part was after Juliet drank the potion and was discovered “dead” in her bed. At the end of the scene, her bed lifted into the air and hung suspended over the action of the scene below until it was finally lowered into the tomb. The aesthetics of the suspended bed took my breath away, and affected me more than the suicides that followed. (Although I enjoyed the play and was thrilled to see Orlando, I did not cry when Romeo and Juliet died. If that’s any indication about the quality of the performance or the actors, you can decide for yourself.)

There have been many shows I’ve attended where I did not have the desire to stay after and meet any of the actors at the stage door, but waiting at the stage door for Orlando was a must. I stood for the bows and left before they were over, making my way outside where I snatched a spot right against the gate to wait. And he didn’t make us wait long…

The play has been in previews and had it’s opening night on Thursday, Sept. 19. For more information about the play and tickets click here. If you’re interested in some of the reviews, click here and here.

