Tags

, , , , , ,

Now that the weather is starting to change, I thought it was appropriate to bid adieu to my first full summer in the city and happily welcome fall. Living in New England all my life, I know very well that the weather is never reliable or consistent (“wait a minute, it’ll change”). Even though NYC is not so far away from where I grew up, I have never looked forward to fall as much as I have this year.

Last winter, I could not wait for summer. “I love the heat,” I said. Let me tell you, you don’t know heat until you wake up sweating, leave your apartment and are drenched in sweat, then wait in the steamy subway while continuing to sweat. And do it all over again at lunchtime, at the end of the day, and again the next day. Throw in a heat wave and humidity and believe me, you’ll be beyond excited for fall, too. (If you have any doubts, read my post on humidity).

Well, now fall is almost here and I am like a kid counting down the days until Santa comes down the chimney. I’m excited to break out my first pair of Frye boots (aren’t they pretty?).

boots

I’ve progressed from having the box sitting in my room to having the boots out of the box, trying them on every few days but sadly acknowledging that it’s not time quite yet.

I’m excited for scarves of every color and length.

scarves

And pumpkin beer, lots of pumpkin beer.

pumpkin

NYC may not have the vast foliage of New Hampshire or Vermont, but any tree with leaves that are now changing color and falling makes me a little bit giddy.

And finally, all of the hot drinks. Hot tea, hot chocolate, Starbucks pumpkin everything, Chai. And coffee, my lovely new friend.

