Tags

, , , , , ,

On July 8 I went out to the She & Him concert at the Central Park Summer Stage for a friend’s birthday. To go into the actual concert you had to pay $40 and our poor grad student selves weren’t going to afford that. So we decided to sit outside the show and picnic to listen to Zooey Deschanel’s sweet, sultry, retrofitted voice sing love songs instead. We found a grassy knoll and set up shop. Clearly we had amazing views of the band.

michelle_she&him

We had wine and cheese, chips and snickers and cupcakes. Essentially we had everything a great picnic should have: cheese, wine and dessert. Well, five minutes before the band was about to hit the stage, the sky opens up. The rains were coming down hard with the occasional thunder rumble.  We hid under our umbrellas, clutching our solo cups filled with red wine, still getting soaked to the bone. We stayed at the show and the sky cleared. We walked barefoot in the grass and talked and drank and acted as if our dresses weren’t stuck to our legs and our hair wasn’t dripping drops on our shoulders. Walking back to the subway, after Zooey performed one of my favorites, “I Put A Spell On You,” a sopping blanket in tow, it hit me that this was one of my favorite nights since I’ve been here.  It finally felt like a night out on my town.  It’s starting to feel like home.

